Cañada College Academic Senate

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate

2:10pm – 4:00pm

Room 2-10

Agenda 09/12/19

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the Senate website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	Call to Order	Tedone		Procedure
2	Introductions	Tedone	1	Information
3	Adoption of Agenda	Tedone	1	
4	Adoption of Consent Agenda (note: Humanities and Social Sciences Tenure Evaluation Committees approve at last May meeting)	Tedone	1	

Consent Agenda

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Academic Senate members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Senate member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Senate member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

5.1	Minutes 05/23/2019
5.2	Science and Technology Tenure Committees Committee for David Monarres (math faculty, entering Year 4): • Evan Innerst (math) • Jeanette Medina (chem) • Rich Follansbee (math) • Bill Schwartz (CS) Committee for Sumathi Shankar (math faculty, entering Year 3): • Po Tong (math) • Attila Elteto (astronomy) • Michael Hoffman (math) • Susan Mahoney (earth science)

	 Committee for Lezlee Inman (new radiologic technology faculty, Year 1): Rafael Rivera (chair, rad tech) Martin Partlan (physics) Nathan Staples (bio) 		
	 Committee for Ramki Kalyanaraman (new engineering faculty, Year 1): Evan Innerst (chair, math) Attila Elteto (astronomy) Jeanette Medina (chem) 		
5.3	Business Design and Workforce Tenure Committees Althea Kippes, new business professor: • Candice Nance • Sarita Santos • Hyla Lacefield		
	Gampi Shankar, new business professor: Candice Nance Patty Hall Sarita Santos 		
	 Barbara Velline, new accounting professor: Annie Nicholls Patty Hall Candice Nance 		
	 Ritu Malhotra, medical assisting professor: Ronda Chaney Paul Roscelli. Looking for an industry expert 		
5.4	Counseling Tenure Committees Chris Rico (Tenure Track, Year 4) • Sarah Aranyakul • Lorraine Barrales-Ramirez • Allison Field		
	 Aricka Bueno (Tenure Track, Year 1) Gloria Darafshi Sarah Aranyakul Diana Tedone 		
	Counseling Full-time Non-Tenure Evaluation Committees Richard Saroyan (Full-Time Non-Tenure Track International) Nick Martin Daryan Chan		

	Jenna French
	Chai Saechao (Full-Time Non-Tenure Track Promise) Jenna French Gloria Darfashi Sandra Mendez
	Melissa Alforja (Full-Time Non-Tenure Track TRIO) Jenna French Nadya Sigona Sandra Mendez
5.5	OER Liaison (\$500 per semester funded by Academic Senate for California Community Colleges): Sarah Harmon
5.6	Academic Senate Division Representatives BDW- Annie Nicholls and Dick Claire SciTech- Po Tong H&SS- Doniella Maher Counseling- Daryan Chan ASLT- vacant KAD- vacant
5.7	District Committees District Academic Senate: Diana Tedone-Goldstone and David Eck (one vote) District Committee on Budget and Finance: Martin Partlan District Participatory Governance Council: Diana Tedone-Goldstone
5.8	Museum of Tolerance Training Daryan Chan Ramakrishnan Kalyanaraman
5.9	Biology Faculty Hiring Committee Ellen Young Doug Hirzel Rafael Rivera
5.10	Renew Speaker Honorium Fund for 2019/2020 (The honorarium is \$100 but can be up to \$200 for special circumstances, not to exceed \$1,000 per semester)
5.11	PBC MembershipNick Carr- Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance RepresentativeVacant- Academic Support and Learning ResourcesSalumeh Eslamieh- Humanities & Social SciencesMichael Hoffman- Science & TechnologyPaul Naas- Business, Design & WorkforceNick Martin- Counseling

	Vacant- PT Faculty/full-time Faculty at large			
5.12	President's Advisory Group Lisa Palmer Paul Naas			
Public	Comment			
6	Questions/comments on non-agenda items	Public	5	Information
Senate	Business		<u> </u>	
7.1	Academic Senate Secretary Natalie Alizaga 	Tedone	5	Action
7.2	 Introduction to Academic Senate What's 10+1 State Law/ Board Policy related to Academic Senate Role of President Role of representatives 	Tedone/Eck	10	Information
7.3	Accreditation Team Visit Updates What to expect 	Engel	15	Information
7.4	Quality Online Teaching & Learning Coaches: Part of Online CTE Pathways grant the Coaches will be tasked with providing support for faculty completing the Quality Online Teaching & Learning Work Group training, completing course reviews using the OEI Course Design Rubric and the Peralta Equity Rubric, and collaborating on the continuous quality improvement of the distance education program at Cañada.	Reed	10	Information
7.5	 Flex Day Proposals for October Professional Development Committee presents proposals for the October Flex Day for review 	Meckler	10	Information
7.6	 Academic Senate Priorities for 2019/2020 Long-term Priorities Short-term Priorities 	Tedone/Eck	10	Action

7.7	Academic Senate appointee to Faculty Professional Development Committee	Tedone	10	Action	
7.8	Supporting KAD division	Stalker	15	Discussion	
Regula	Regular Reports				
8.1	President's report	Tedone	5	Information	
8.2	Treasurer's report	Aranyakul	5	Information	
8.3	Curriculum Committee	Nance	5	Information	
8.4	Professional Development	ТВА	5	Information	
8.5	ACES	Taveau	5	Information	
Other Reports, Meetings and Deadlines					
9.1	Upcoming Events, Meetings, Deadlines				
10	Adjourn	Tedone		Action	

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

Academic Senate for the 2019 – 2020 academic year:

President: Diana Tedone-Goldstone; Vice President: David Eck; Secretary: TBA; Treasurer: Sarah Aranyakul; Curriculum Committee: Candice Nance; Professional Development: TBA; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Doniella Maher; Science and Technology Division: Po Tong; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Anne Nichols and Dick Claire; KAD and ASLT: vacant; Student Services/Counseling: Daryan Chan