Cañada College Academic Senate

 $\underline{\text{http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate}}$

2:10pm – 4:00pm **Room 2-10**

Agenda 09/26/19

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the Senate website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	Call to Order	Tedone		Procedure
2	Introductions	Tedone	1	Information
3	Adoption of Agenda	Tedone	1	
4	Adoption of Consent Agenda	Tedone	1	

Consent Agenda

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Academic Senate members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Senate member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Senate member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

5.1	Minutes 09/12/2019
5.2	Speaker Honorarium (\$100) for Gerardo Pacheco to speak at Julie Carey ESL 912 class.
5.3	Speaker Honorarium for Carmen Torres to give presentation- Know Your Rights: Immigration in the Trump Era. \$100 requested by Julie Carey
5.4	Science and Technology Tenure Evaluation Committees (changes since last agenda) Ellen Young (2018) Nathan Staples (Chair); Doug Hirzel; Susan Mahoney

1					
	LEZLEE INMAN (2019) Rafael Rivera (Chair); Martin Partlan; Po Tong RAMKI KALYANARAMAN (2019) Nick Langhoff; Evan Innerst; Jeanette Medina				
5.5	Business, Design, and Workforce Evaluation Committee (update with expert) Ritu Malhorta Paul Roscelli chair Ronda Chaney Kerry Principato—expert Kerry works as the CTE co-coordinator at Castro valley adult school. She is responsible for overseeing Medical assisting and other career tech programs for the school. Comes with a background of nearly 16 years in education and has also served as a Dean for three at a for profit school. Note: Committee agrees on expert and checked in with AFT to make sure they are following the faculty contract.				
Public (Public Comment				
6	Questions/comments on non-agenda items	Public	5	Information	
Senate	Senate Business				
7.1	Renew Supplemental Travel Award for 2019/2020 • Possibly change to not exceed \$2,000 More information: https://canadacollege.edu/academicsen ate/funding.php	Tedone	10	Action	
7.2	Guided Pathways: Update from summer work and presentation of draft of areas of interest.	Lacefield	20	Action	
7.3	Working Groups for: New Instructional Program Development Process Program Revitalization/Program Improvement and Viability	Tedone	10	Discussion	

7.4	Coordinator of Online Instruction and Distance Education revised position description. • Change to 0.2 release time • Update job duties	Tedone	10	Action	
7.5	Faculty Professional Development Committee Term Limits	Palmer	5	Action	
7.6	Revised Reassigned Time Process Proposal	Tedone	10	Action	
7.7	 Awards Committee Receive applications for speaker honorarium Send out call for nominations for state Academic Senate Awards (Hayward Award, Exemplary Program Award, and Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award) Send out call for nominations for local Academic Senate Awards and receive applications for Outstanding Staff and Outstanding Faculty 	Tedone	5	Action	
7.8	Academic Senate Expectations and Brown Act	Tedone/Eck	10	Information	
Regular Reports					
8.1	President's report	Tedone	5	Information	
8.2	Treasurer's report	Aranyakul	5	Information	
8.3	Curriculum Committee	Nance	5	Information	
8.4	Professional Development	Palmer	5	Information	

8.5	ACES	Taveau	5	Information	
Other Reports, Meetings and Deadlines					
9.1	Upcoming Events, Meetings, Deadlines				
10	Adjourn	Tedone		Action	

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

Academic Senate for the 2019 - 2020 academic year:

President: Diana Tedone; Vice President: David Eck Secretary: Natalie Alizaga; Treasurer: Sarah Aranyakul; Curriculum Committee: Candice Nance; Professional Development: Lisa Palmer; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Doniella Maher; Science and Technology Division: Po Tong; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Anne Nichols and Dick Claire; KAD and ASLT: vacant; Student Services/Counseling: Daryan Chan