Cañada College Academic Senate

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate 2:10pm – 4:15pm https://smccd.zoom.us/j/99029691323

Agenda 5/14/20

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the Senate website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	Call to Order	Tedone		Procedure
2	Introductions	Tedone	1	Information
3	Adoption of Agenda	Tedone	1	
4	Adoption of Consent Agenda	Tedone	1	

Consent Agenda

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Academic Senate members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Senate member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Senate member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

5.1	Minutes 4/26/2020
5.2	Minutes 5/6/2020
5.3	Humanities and Social Sciences Tenure Committees for 2020/2021
	Natalie Alizaga (Fall 2018), Psychology, 3rd year
	Dean: James Carranza

Four-year (discipline expert): Ami Smith (Psychology)

Four-year: Jessica Kaven (Communication Studies)

Two-year: Dave Eck (PHIL) Replacing two-year member, Bob Lee (Sociology)

Gerardo Pacheco (Fall 2018), ESL, 3rd year

Dean: James Carranza

Four-year (discipline expert): Alicia Aguirre (ESL)

Four-year: Rebekah Taveau (ESL)

Two-year: Lezlee Ware (PLSC) Replacing two-year member, Katie Schertle (ESL)

Danielle Pelletier (Fall 2018), ESL, 3rd year

Dean: James Carranza

Four-year (discipline expert): Alicia Aguirre

Four-year: Rebekah Taveau

Two-year: Katie Schertle (ESL) Replacing two-year member, Doniella Maher

(English)

Maureen Wiley (Fall 2017), English, 4th year

Dean: James Carranza

Four-year (discipline expert): Salumeh Eslamieh (English)

Four-year: Yolanda Valenzuela (English)

Two-year: Julie Carey (ESL)

	New Hire (2020), English, 1st year					
	Dean: James Carranza					
	Four-year (discipline expert): Doniella Maher (English)					
	Four-year: Elizabeth Terzakis (English)					
	Two-year: Lisa Palmer (English)					
5.3	Curriculum Rep, Fall 2020 to SP 2022: Maureen Wiley (replacing Susan Gangel)					
Public C	Comment					
6	Questions/comments on non-agenda items	Public	5	Information		
Senate	Senate Business					
7.1	CVC Resolution	DeMello/Tedone	10	Discussion/ Action		
7.2	Program Review Questions	Tedone	8	Discussion/ Action		
7.3	Executive Committee for Summer 2020	Tedone	5	Action		
7.4	Secretary and Treasurer Positions	Tedone	5	Action		
7.5	Outstanding FT/PT Faculty and Staff	Tedone	10	Action		
7.6	Strong Workforce Presentation	Branch	20	Information		
7.7	CARES Act Emergency Funding	Pérez	10	Information		
7.8	Updated Program of Study Process Issue: students have an identified program of study in banner for a program that we are no longer offering at the college	Hartman	8	Discussion		

				-	
	Proposed solution: When a program is discontinued the curriculum committee would contact the success team for the interest area that housed that program The success team will reach out to students to connect with their counselor to make any adjustments to their ed plan.				
7.9	Proposal to increase district funded release time for AS related positions	Tedone/Eck	5	Discussion	
Regular Reports					
8.1	 President's report Program Viability and Discontinuance Additional DE Coordinator Reassigned Time Position for 2020/2021 	Tedone	5	Information	
8.2	Treasurer's report	Aranyakul	5	Information	
8.3	Curriculum Committee	Nance	5	Information	
8.4	Professional Development	Malamud	5	Information	
Other Reports, Meetings and Deadlines					
9.1	Upcoming Events, Meetings, Deadlines				
10	Adjourn	Tedone		Procedure	

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

Academic Senate for the 2019 – 2020 academic year:

President: Diana Tedone; Vice President: David Eck Secretary: Natalie Alizaga; Treasurer: Sarah Aranyakul; Curriculum Committee: Candice Nance; Professional Development: Monica Malamud; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Doniella Maher; Science and Technology Division: Po Tong; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Anne Nichols; Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance: Bryan Jeong; ASLT: vacant; Student Services/Counseling: Daryan Chan