

Presenter

AGENDA

Date: Thursday, October 2nd, 2014 **Time:** 3:30pm-5:30pm **Location:** Building 2 Room 10

<u># Item</u>

III.

- I. Call To Order
 - 1. Time Keeper: Evelyn Bench
 - 2. Secretary: Lina Tsvirkunova
- II. Roll Call (Quorum 6)
 - Javier Santos
 Evelyn Bench
 Andee Liljegren

 Evelyn Valenzuela
 Shawn Martin
 Jithan Tennakoon

 Lina Tsvirkunova
 Carlos Lazarte
 Omar Gonzalez

 Claire Sharif
 Moody Metry

 Adoption of the Agenda
 Evelyn Moody Metry

Only changes in the order of the agenda or removal of items from the agenda are allowed. Additions must be in compliance with The Brown Act.

IV. Approval of Minutes

- a. Thursday, September 4th, 2014
- b. Thursday, September 25th, 2014

V. Hearing of the Public

This time is reserved for the members of the public who wish to address the Associated Students of Cañada College on non-agenda items. If time is limited, discussion will be restricted to 5 minutes per speaker and 5 minutes per topic.

Guests Present:

VI. Special Presentations/Item of the Week

- a. Ice-Breaker (5 minutes) Evelyn Valenzuela
- b. Black Student Reception (4 minutes) Dean David Johnson
- c. Transfer Day (4 minutes) Soraya Sohrabi
- d. Technology Plan (4 minutes) Dean Linda Hayes
- e. Climate Change Activist Speaker (4 minutes) Professor Alison Field

V. Funding Requests

a. Black Student Reception (\$100)

b. Transfer Day (\$300)

IV. Appointments and Interviews

- a. Chairs (10 minutes) Javier Santos
 - I. Chair of Hospitality
 - II. Chair of Environmental Sustainability
 - III. Chair of Diversity
 - IV. Chair Academic Affairs
 - V. Chair of Campus Relations
 - VI. Discussion for Future Chair Positions
- b. Curriculum Committee (2 minutes) Andee Liljegren
- c. ACES (2 minutes) Evelyn Bench

XI. Reports

College President: Dr. Larry Buckley Inter-Club Council Programming Board Student Life and Leadership Manager. Misha Maggi

Leader of the Week: Shawn Martin

Executive Officers

- a. President: Javier Santos
- b. Vice President: Evelyn Valenzuela
- c. Secretary: (vacant)
- d. Treasurer: Lina Tsvirkunova
- e. Commissioner of Activities: Claire Sharif
- f. Commissioner of Publicity: Evelyn Bench

Senators:

- a. Shawn Martin
- b. Carlos Lazarte
- c. Moody Metry

- d. Andee Liljegren
- e. Jithan Tennakoon
- f. Omar Gonzalez

XI. Open Forum/Feedback/Future Events

An opportunity for members of the board or the audience to discuss any items and give feedback they have received from fellow students. Additional items for next meeting agenda

XII. Adjournment: the next meeting will be on October 9th, 2014.